From Bike Walk Macon– Bike Walk Macon hosted its second annual Mobility Maker Awards and Member Party on Thursday, June 23 at Fall Line Brewing Co. This event celebrates some of Macon's most dedicated sustainable transportation advocates accompanied by a presentation showcasing the organization's accomplishments in creating a more bikeable, walkable, and livable Macon-Bibb County in the past year. Awards are given in the following categories: Partnership Award, Volunteer of the Year Award, Government Department Award, Business Award, Impact Award, and Mobility Champion Award.
  • ●  The Partnership Award goes to a group that stood through their partnership with Bike Walk Macon. Big Wieght Entertainment received the Partnership Award for their dedicated support of Open Streets Macon in the past two years.
  • ●  The Volunteer of the Year Award goes to a person or group that stood out through their volunteerism with Bike Walk Macon. Weston Stroud was celebrated as one of Bike Walk Macon's most dedicated volunteers who also served as the organization's Board President in 2021.
  • ●  This Government Department Award goes to a government leader or organization who has made a tremendous impact in making Macon more walkable, bikeable, and livable. The Macon Transit Authority was recognized for implementing community-minded facilities and programs to create a more connected and sustainable Macon.
  • ●  This Business Award goes to the business that has done the most in the past year to advance biking and walking in Macon-Bibb County. Atrium Health Navicent was recognized for their monthly Walk With A Doc event that encourages people to walk more while also learning about their health and meeting new people.
  • ●  The Impact Award goes to the most innovative sustainable transportation project or initiative in the past year. This award was given to Macon-Bibb County for passing the Complete Streets Policy Ordinance in June 2021. Mayor Lester Miller, Commissioner Elaine Lucas, and the Pedestrian Safety Reivew Board were specifically acknowledged for their role in passing the ordinance and advocating for the importance of planning, designing, and installing safe infrastructure for all modes of transportation.
  • ●  The Mobility Champion Award goes to an individual who has done the most to move the needle toward creating streets and communities for people, and not just for cars. This award was given to Bill Causey for his role in designing and transforming many of Macon's most iconic public spaces and the Ocmulgee Heritage Trail during his time at Macon-Bibb County Engineering and in the years following his retirement.

Filed Under: Government, City

Show All News | Report Violation


Latest on Georgia Chron